Cleveland Journalism Hall of Fame inductees named

News Desk | 9/3/2014, 9:13 a.m.
The Press Club of Cleveland created the Cleveland Journalism Hall of Fame in 1981
Connie Harper

Nov. 7 gala also to celebrate Heaton Award winner

Cleveland – The Press Club of Cleveland has selected five leaders from print, broadcast and digital media to be inducted into the Press Club’s Cleveland Journalism Hall of Fame at a gala celebration Nov. 7.

The inductees are:

• Ed Byers, formerly of WGAR as “Ed Richards”

• Constance D. Harper, associate publisher and editor, Call & Post

• Paul Orlousky, news reporter, WOIO Action 19 News

• Wilma Smith, formerly of WEWS and WJW/Fox 8

• Tom Suddes, Northeast Ohio Media Group editorial board

The club will also present its annual Chuck Heaton Award to Wayne Dawson, co-anchor, Fox 8 News in the Morning. Dawson is the seventh recipient of the annual award, which is given to an individual who best exemplifies the qualities of Hall of Fame reporter Chuck Heaton, a long-time sports writer and columnist at The Plain Dealer.

Heaton, who passed away in February 2008, was known for his lifelong dedication to journalism, his fairness, his concern for community and helping others.

The Press Club of Cleveland created the Cleveland Journalism Hall of Fame in 1981. Plaques honoring Hall of Fame inductees are displayed at Nighttown, 12387 Cedar Road, Cleveland Heights, which serves as the Club’s unofficial home. Also on display are large-format news photographs of seminal moments in Cleveland history.

The Nov. 7 induction ceremony will be at Executive Caterers at Landerhaven in Mayfield Heights. Ticket and sponsorship details will be released in September. For more information, follow The Press Club of Cleveland on Facebook for updates, visit www.pressclubcleveland.com, email pressclubcleveland@oh.rr.com, or call (440) 899-1222.